Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Montana Congressional Veteran Commendation

Montana Congressional Veteran Commendation

Our veterans and their families have sacrificed so much in the defense of our freedoms and our way of life. After their military careers, many of our veterans have continued their invaluable service by helping others in their communities. 

The Montana Congressional Veteran Commendation, which Congressman Gianforte started in 2017, recognizes outstanding Montana veterans who have honorably served both our nation and our communities.

For more information regarding the Montana Congressional Veteran Commendation, contact Mike Waters, Congressman Gianforte’s Director of Veterans and Military Affairs, at (406) 969-1736 or

2019 Montana Congressional Veteran Commendation Recipients:

Justin Bradley of Lolo – U.S. Marine Corps; Operation Enduring Freedom

Herbert Cogley of Clancy – U.S. Army; Vietnam War

Michael Eisenhauer of Great Falls – U.S. Army; 1990 – 2008, including Iraq War

Daniel Flynn of Belgrade – U.S. Army; Operation Iraqi Freedom, Operation Enduring Freedom, Operation Freedom Sentinel

LeRoy Gaub of Bozeman – U.S. Army; 1972 - 2003

James Geiger of Conrad – U.S. Army Air Corps; World War II

Thomas Goyette of Butte – U.S. Navy; Vietnam War

Greg Grove of Eureka – U.S. Navy; 1983 - 1984

Roland Heaton of Townsend – U.S. Army; Vietnam War

Donald Helmbrecht of Victor – U.S. Army; Vietnam War

Jodie Penrod Jolly of Dillon – U.S. Air Force; 1982 - 2014

Richard Klose, Sr. of Laurel – U.S. Army; 1961 - 1964

Roger Knoell of Butte – U.S. Navy; Vietnam War

Mary LaForge of Crow Agency – U.S. Air Force; 1977 - 1983

Dale Longfellow of Hobson – U.S. Navy; 1961 - 1964

Justin Madill of Great Falls – U.S. Army; Operation Enduring Freedom

Perry Miller of Chinook – U.S. Marine Corps and Montana Army National Guard; 1977 - 1982, 1986 - 1993

Adeline Mitchell of Glasgow – U.S. Navy; World War II

Neil Neary of Butte – U.S. Army; Korean War

Thomas Price of Eureka – U.S. Navy; 1944 - 1946, including Iwo Jima and Okinawa

Harold Riensche of Reed Point – U.S. Marine Corps; Vietnam War

Karen Semple of Montana City – U.S. Air Force; 1973 - 1982

Quintin Stephen-Hassard of Dillon – U.S. Navy; Vietnam War

Thomas Straugh of Dillon – U.S. Navy; 1968 - 1998

James Watkins of Dillon – U.S. Air Force and Montana Army National Guard; 1965 - 1968, 1974 - 1995

Bill White of Helena – U.S. Army and U.S. Army Reserve; 1966 - 1969, 1983 - 2007

George Wright of Laurel – U.S. Army; World War II


Click here for the 2018 Montana Congressional Veteran Commendation Recipients

Click here for the 2017 Montana Congressional Veteran Commendation Recipients